May 1, 2013
Proposed Recording Fee Increase to Support Affordable Housing
A bill is currently being debated in the California Senate that would significantly increase the cost to record a real estate document.
Basically any document related to real estate must be recorded with the applicable county recorder's office. For example, a deed of trust involving a home in Gilroy would need to be recorded with the Santa Clara County Recorder's Office. Since thousands of documents are recorded each day in California, California is a large state geographically and very populated, the revenue that can be generated by a recording fee increase is immense. In particular, analysis by the California Senate Transportation and Housing Committee stated that between $300M and $750M could be generated each year if the bill passes. The range is due to the fact that in some years more documents are recorded than in others.
SB-391 (Saulnier) would add a $75 fee to every recordable real estate instrument. These funds would be allocated to principally support affordable housing programs for modest income individuals. The fee would apply to the following instruments: deed, grant deed, trustee’s deed, deed of trust, reconveyance, quit claim deed, fictitious deed of trust, assignment of deed of trust, request for notice of default, abstract of judgment, subordination agreement, declaration of homestead, abandonment of homestead, notice of default, release or discharge, easement, notice of trustee sale, notice of completion, UCC financing statement, mechanic’s lien, maps, and covenants, conditions, and restriction.
The typical cost to record a 1-page document is between $10-25. The reason for the variance is that each county sets its own recording fee. Santa Clara County charges $25 for the first page to record a document whereas Modoc County charges $10. Yes Modoc County is a California county. This bill would significantly increase the cost to record a document. For example, if SB-391 passes, to record a 1-page affidavit of death of a joint tenant in Santa Clara County would cost $100 instead of $25.
Still, the bill does exempt the $75 fee from documents where the documentary transfer tax is in effect. For example, if a person purchases a home, the $75 fee would not apply.
The bill's author previously attempted to pass a similar bill in 2012 but fell 2 votes shy on the Senate floor. Since the bill amounts to a tax increase, at least a 2/3 vote is required in both chambers of the California legislature.
To be clear, this is just proposed bill. It is not California law unless it passes both chambers of the California legislature, Senate and Assembly, and signed by Gov. Brown.
I express no approval or disapproval of the proposed bill whatsoever. This a legal blog, not a political blog.